That's Just How The Cookie Crumbles...

Decorating By Newbieone Updated 30 Apr 2007 , 12:32pm by bethola

Newbieone Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Newbieone Posted 30 Apr 2007 , 2:38am
post #1 of 18

OK, not the cookie, THE CAKE! Why are my cakes so crumbly? I am new to baking, and absolutely only do it so that I can do my love- decorating!
My chocolate box cakes in particular can't even hold a cut...they just crumble into 10-50 little pieces! I add the extra sour cream and use canola oil instead of vegetable oil. Could that be doing it? I just didn't want to do a plain choc boxed cake and got the idea of the sour cream from CC ladies.

Any suggestions would be awesome. I just wish I was rich and could hire someone to bake fabulous cakes for me AND CLEAN UP and all I would do is the fun part- decorate! Ok, i know I don't have to be rich, just own a bakery- but STILL!
icon_rolleyes.gif
Christina

17 replies
mizshelli Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mizshelli Posted 30 Apr 2007 , 3:13am
post #2 of 18

I hate box chocolate cake mixes. I even tried the cake extenders on here and my cakes fell apart. I use the chocolate cake recipe in my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook and add my own stuff to it. The last time I made a box cake mix and it actually stood up to cutting, I added 8 oz of melted chocolate, an extra egg, 1/4 c cocoa, and 1/8 c of very strong coffee. I have also heard to add sour cream, I'd add about 1/4 c. That should help icon_smile.gif, if you want the BH&G recipe let me know, it's actually easier and WAYYY tastier than the box cake!

MissLady85 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MissLady85 Posted 30 Apr 2007 , 3:15am
post #3 of 18

ok well after seeing that i wanna try the one from BH&G!!! can you pm it to me please??? icon_lol.gificon_lol.gif

CakeRN Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeRN Posted 30 Apr 2007 , 3:21am
post #4 of 18

I use DH cake mixes and add a box of pudding and an extra egg to it. It comes out very moist and not crumbly...