Homemade Or Boxed Cakes?

Decorating By ajw Updated 28 Apr 2007 , 1:51pm by Mrs262

ajw Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ajw Posted 28 Apr 2007 , 4:32am
post #1 of 14

Hey, I was wondering......... what do you use when making, lets say a wedding cake or such. Homemade or boxed or is it just personal preference? Thanks,
Melissa icon_biggrin.gif

13 replies
NewbeeBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NewbeeBaker Posted 28 Apr 2007 , 4:47am
post #2 of 14

I dont do wedding cakes yet, but I use cake mixes with the extender recipes and they turn out moist and delicious!! Here is the link that I use...

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-1977-Cake-Mix-extender.html

And I add a box of instant pudding mix. YUMMY!

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 28 Apr 2007 , 6:19am
post #3 of 14
laweymers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
laweymers Posted 28 Apr 2007 , 10:31am
post #4 of 14

I'm no expert, but I've done 2 wedding cakes and I try mixing flavors for bigger cakes.......like french vanilla with cherry chip or french vanilla with white. I use a raspberry filling or cherry filling and everyone loves it. I've also altered the box recipes with the box suggestions like for carrot cake when you add pineapple and nuts. They seem to go over really well and people don't usually know you used a mix from a box! icon_wink.gif

mommicakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommicakes Posted 28 Apr 2007 , 11:35am
post #5 of 14

I have used both boxed and scratch mixes. I too change up and mix flavors. It really depends how adventurous the bride feels like being is what I make. Some flavors you can't make from a boxed mix. But they both work for me. I also use the extender quite a bit. icon_biggrin.gif

Lisa422 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa422 Posted 28 Apr 2007 , 11:59am
post #6 of 14