Vegan Gumpaste Or Fondant Recipe

Baking By goofus Updated 27 Apr 2007 , 5:22am by KoryAK

goofus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
goofus Posted 27 Apr 2007 , 3:28am
post #1 of 6

Hi there,

I'm new here, and I'm having trouble finding an eggless, gelatine-free recipe for either fondant or gumpaste. Seems most recipes rely on these, and/or some form of hydrogenated oil/shortening/margarine.

Does anyone know of any recipe that has none of these, yet works?

5 replies
nannaraquel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nannaraquel Posted 27 Apr 2007 , 3:44am
post #2 of 6

Many vegan sites, such as, sell vegan gelatin alternatives. Hope that helps!

kbochick Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kbochick Posted 27 Apr 2007 , 3:45am
post #3 of 6

Well, it's nasty, but I'm pretty sure that the Wilton stuff is vegan, if you want to go for buying some instead of making it. I gave the ingredients list to my vegan friend, and she didn't mention anything that was against her diet.

hopesmith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hopesmith Posted 27 Apr 2007 , 3:54am
post #4 of 6

I think I've read on here before that you can make MMF with marshmallow fluff and it is considered vegan since it doesn't have gelatin in it.

lil_cake_lady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lil_cake_lady Posted 27 Apr 2007 , 3:55am
post #5 of 6

Hii!! I'm kinda vegan.... kinda vegetarian... lol... I just choose not to eat certain things including dairy and gelatin (you know... for the meat factor). Anyway... I found this recipe @ the website and where it says shortening (which I try to avoid cuz of the trans fat thing) use the vegan alternative from Smart Balance (they make butter, shortening... various vegan alternatives to dairy products). I tried it the other day in my buttercream recipe and it worked out great. I tried the below recipe once before and (just like I was) it came out amateur-ish...but thats just me. Try it and let me know!!

Happy Baking!

KoryAK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KoryAK Posted 27 Apr 2007 , 5:22am
post #6 of 6

Most (if not all) pre-packaged fondants have no gelatin in them. I'm not sure about the other ingredients because I am not vegan and have no background in it, but I do know that Satin Ice gumpaste and fondant are labeled kosher parve. This is one of the reasons that I don't make my own - just to avoid that issue completely with customers who would not expect a frosting to contain "meat."

Quote by @%username% on %date%