How To Fill A Cupcake?

Decorating By gibson Updated 5 May 2006 , 8:57pm by NEWTODECORATING

gibson Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gibson Posted 5 May 2006 , 8:03pm
post #1 of 14

HI Everyone!

I have an order for some cupcakes.......probably around 50. Anyways, I've been reading about the cupcakes and some people fill them? I've never heard of this.....what about the wrapper....do you serve it without one? Do you put a new one on? Kind of a silly question but this is my first real order and I've never done cupcakes before, so I really want them to be delish! What kind of filling would you put in them? and does anybody have the recipe for the ding dong cake and filling?
I'm thinking of decorating the cupcakes with a lot of flowers and using buttercream icing. Would you just pipe the flowers directly onto the cupcake?
I need all the help I can get!

Thanks!! icon_biggrin.gif

13 replies
NEWTODECORATING Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NEWTODECORATING Posted 5 May 2006 , 8:12pm
post #2 of 14

Hi I have filled cupcakes before with the Giant Ding Dong filling listed in the recipe section here. It is my favorite but does have to be refrigerated. My next favorite is one someone from here shared with me. It is the almost Twinkie filling. It doesn't need refridgeration and I will post it for you if you would like. I use my cookie press to fill the cupcakes. It came with a long pointed nozzle that attaches to it. You can also use a icing tip that is long and pointed (I forget the number) I leave the cupcakes in the wrapper and insert the tip in the top. 1 1/2 clicks on the cookie press is usually enough. Don't over do it. Your cupcake will explode.

gibson Posted 5 May 2006 , 8:18pm
post #3 of 14

I would LOVE the recipe NEWTODECORATING! What kind of cookie press do you have? I have one, never used it.....it's the Wilton Cookie Pro. If you could explain how I would use this? Maybe the icing tip would be easier?