Crisis! Please Help Me Salvage...

Decorating By MandMCakeDesigns Updated 22 Apr 2007 , 3:40am by MandMCakeDesigns

MandMCakeDesigns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MandMCakeDesigns Posted 21 Apr 2007 , 9:35pm
post #1 of 10

Hi, ladies. I was asked to do a cake this weekend about a month ago. There was a Ladies Retreat at my church that I had already paid for, so being new at this, I was hesitant to try a cake the same weekend. The lady assured me the cake was small, so I committed to do it.

Needless to say, a cake for 30 turned into a cake for 50. ...I am tired, don't feel so great and I fell asleep and let my BC crust over for too long. It is all bumpy and cracky and I can't get it smooth. What's the best way to fix it? Can I frost over it or should I just call the lady and ask it if can have fondant over it? --which I know would be unprofessional, but I am REALLY new at this and only do cakes for friends....

I just need help....PLEASE tell me I don't have to bake it over or anything horrendous like that....

9 replies
KoryAK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KoryAK Posted 21 Apr 2007 , 9:40pm
post #2 of 10

no you certainly don't have to bake it over. I use a non-crusting buttercream so I don't have any great tips of uncrusting it but as a worst-case scenario you can always remove the icing and redo it.

itsloops Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
itsloops Posted 21 Apr 2007 , 9:41pm
post #3 of 10

Wow!
I'm sorry you're having such a hard time with BC. I'm not sure how to fix so I'll bump you.

Ariginal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ariginal Posted 21 Apr 2007 , 9:42pm
post #4 of 10

Would a hot knife or spatula do it?

3tiers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
3tiers Posted 21 Apr 2007 , 9:42pm
post #5 of 10

I agree - I have had to do that before. Just scrape the icing off and go over it with fresh buttercream. Good luck!

rezzygirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rezzygirl Posted 21 Apr 2007 , 9:43pm
post #6 of 10