Cake Decorating Instructors At Michaels

Decorating By SweetDreams Updated 28 Apr 2006 , 1:10am by psurrette

SweetDreams Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetDreams Posted 27 Apr 2006 , 11:21am
post #1 of 9

Does anyone know about how much Michaels is paying to teach their cake decorating classes and do you have to have completed all of the wilton courses or can you be self taught? There is a Michaels near me that is in need of a instructor and i would love to teach but i have never taken any of the wilton classes before and wondered if this was even an option for me. If not, is it legal to set up my own classes and teach in another location or in others homes? Would i be able to advertise for the classes at all?
Any other ideas for teaching?

Thanks so much for all the help!!

Cake Central is the best!! thumbs_up.gif

8 replies
tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 27 Apr 2006 , 11:45am
post #2 of 9

Here's a link from the Wilton site that might help.
http://www.wilton.com/instructors/index.cfm I don't know what they pay or what the requirements are but you can check out their site and see if it answers any questions. Good Luck!

lsawyer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lsawyer Posted 27 Apr 2006 , 11:53am
post #3 of 9

I took my classes at an Adult Ed Center. The teacher was an ex-Wilton instructor. Maybe your city has a rec center where you can teach? Is there a local bakery that would like to offer classes (I've seen this idea listed on this site). I don't see a problem working out of your home since you're not selling anything (cakes), just a service. Check wilton.com re what they require. Good luck!

ellepal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ellepal Posted 27 Apr 2006 , 11:55am
post #4 of 9

I just signed up to teach classes at Michaels, but I have no idea how much I am getting paid. I figured it's more for fun than for anything.