Got Asked To Do A Cake!!

Decorating By momof3jotynjake Updated 26 Apr 2005 , 7:07pm by momof3jotynjake

momof3jotynjake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
momof3jotynjake Posted 25 Apr 2005 , 2:11pm
post #1 of 16

Ok.. now, I am a beginner. this will be my 1st cake order!!!
Its for a communion. Any ideas for a beginner cake???
I really would like this one to turn out!
I havent even said yes yet..!! ha ha. do you normally get nervous when asked?
I know i can do it.. but gosh, i feel so nervous!!

15 replies
MrsMissey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsMissey Posted 25 Apr 2005 , 2:22pm
post #2 of 16

Congratulations to you on your first order (even though you haven't said yes, yet!) ...I'm sure you're excited, as well as nervous! I was a total wreck when I got my first order and sometimes I still get nervous but I think that is part of the "thrill" of decorating cakes!!

Check out the Galleries section for some beautiful communion cakes. I think the cross cake or book cake would be appropriate and relatively easy ones to do! Good luck to you in whatever you choose!!

momof3jotynjake Posted 25 Apr 2005 , 2:26pm
post #3 of 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrsMissey

Congratulations to you on your first order (even though you haven't said yes, yet!) ...I'm sure you're excited, as well as nervous! I was a total wreck when I got my first order and sometimes I still get nervous but I think that is part of the "thrill" of decorating cakes!!

Check out the Galleries section for some beautiful communion cakes. I think the cross cake or book cake would be appropriate and relatively easy ones to do! Good luck to you in whatever you choose!!

thank you MrsMissey... I absolutely love that cross. Its beautiful. but, i noticed it only feeds 12 people? what if she wants it to feed more? any advice on that?

MrsMissey Posted 25 Apr 2005 , 2:28pm
post #4 of 16

Sure...put it on top of a sheet cake!! The sheet cake could even be a different flavor cake....so everyone is happy!