Luster Dust Is My Friend!

Decorating By Momkiksbutt Updated 6 Apr 2007 , 11:51pm by PistachioCranberry

Momkiksbutt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Momkiksbutt Posted 4 Apr 2007 , 1:06am
post #1 of 19

I'm posting a few progession pics of my husbands birthday cake in progress.....He is a big pirate game nut, so I just had to go there!! He says it's only for kids, but you know he really loves it!!! Don't they all????!! LOL icon_wink.gificon_biggrin.gif

This is my first time trying cocoa painting too. I think it may become one of my favorite things to do...can you use other colors to do this?? What are the right tools and ingredients for this? I just used cocoa and alittle vegetable oil with paint brushes and my fingers to smudge. Any pointers on making it better??

Let me know what you think!
LL
LL
LL
LL

18 replies
KarenOR Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KarenOR Posted 4 Apr 2007 , 1:07am
post #2 of 19

I only see the last two pictures!

Crimsicle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crimsicle Posted 4 Apr 2007 , 1:20am
post #3 of 19

I can see them all....and they look GREAT! Love the map! And what a great idea...to luster dust the writing before putting it on the cake. I can't do it afterward - neatly, that is - to save my soul. Great work. Be sure to share the final result.

Momkiksbutt Posted 4 Apr 2007 , 1:34am
post #4 of 19

Will do that for sure!! My DH's birthday is not till Sunday, but our children are off friday to their respective non-custodial parents for springbreak visitation. So we are doing it early! Thursday to be exact!

I'll be sure and take lots of pics and post them. I'll post some others in the lounge so you can all see the celebration too!!

icon_biggrin.gif

KarenOR Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KarenOR Posted 4 Apr 2007 , 1:47am
post #5 of 19

Looks great!

kelly75 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelly75 Posted 4 Apr 2007 , 7:39am
post #6 of 19

Those look great! Can't wait to see the finished cake!

Kelly