An Even Rockier Day In The Job

Decorating By Susecita Updated 27 Mar 2006 , 5:00am by didi5

Susecita Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Susecita Posted 26 Mar 2006 , 3:58am
post #1 of 14

Hey guys. No, I dont plan to post these every single day I go to work but today something happened that made me really nervous. So I am trying to decorate cakes to be sold at the store and I am fine at the borders and I am fine at the frosting and I am fine at creating a canvas for a design. Now she hates my floral designs and she turns to me and says "You know you came in with such confidence and I thought that that would make up for the lack of experience but since you are not coming every single day I am even doubting that. Let's see how the day goes." I turned all sorts of shades. I was so sad! But I put on a happy face, went quiet and kept decorating. I think I worked as a trooper given her comment. Then finally I said "You know, I could come in every day for a couple of hours without being paid until I get the hang of it." She said I think that would be a great idea. So Im still getting paid Thursdays and Sats but also have to come in other days to "learn" the trade. I am super excited about that but which she hadn't said what she said. Then she said also "I think you are expecting too much from yourself." Well to be honest, I proved her wrong. I worked the whooooole day like a mule and took charge of things. By the end of the day I was even giving her orders. Before leaving she said "You know, you worked really well today for being your first day. You had great disposition yada yada." At some other point she said "You set a lot of goals for yourself today and have managed them very well." Oh did I mention that of all the cakes I decorated for the store, only one was not sold? Well just a thought. Here is my question should I be alarmed by her comment or more confident by it? She told me to come in whenever I could on Thursday. It's hard to read this woman. Agh. Feedback w