This Is The Cake I Want To Do....help!!

Decorating By scrapmomof3 Updated 29 Mar 2007 , 3:50am by scrapmomof3

scrapmomof3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scrapmomof3 Posted 29 Mar 2007 , 1:57am
post #1 of 14

My son will be celebrating his 8th birthday in April and wants a Star Wars cake. I searched online and found one that does not look too difficult design wise. However, being new to this, I need a bit of help.

To start with, we will be having approx. 25 people here (12 of those are kids). I have never done a sheet cake before, so I need to know what pan size to use to make a 1/2 sheet (that would be enough right?)

Also, can anyone figure out what that tan line is that runs through the design? Is it just icing? What color would I use to match that?

And last, what would be the best way to fill in the Star Wars logo without messing up the icing?

Sorry for the silly questions, but I want this to be a great cake for my son.

Lisa

Here is a link to the cake...go under kids gallery and look for the Star Wars cake.

http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.leopoldsbakery.com/galleryImage/index.bvi%3Fimgid%3D45%26small%3D1&imgrefurl=http://www.leopoldsbakery.com/bakery/birthday-cakes/children/&h=78&w=100&sz=6&hl=en&start=24&um=1&tbnid=9q1_918cmhRPUM:&tbnh=64&tbnw=82&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dstar%2Bwars%2Bbirthday%2Bcakes%26start%3D18%26ndsp%3D18%26svnum%3D10%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26rlz%3D1B2GGGL_en___US203%26sa%3DN

13 replies
fooby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fooby Posted 29 Mar 2007 , 2:09am
post #2 of 14

The tan lines looks lice buttercream iced using either a tip 3 or 5. I'm guessing the Star Wars lettering can be done use frozen buttercream transfer. I'm guessing a 9 x 13 pan would be more than enough to feed 25 but I'm sure the experts can advise you better on this.

I'm planning to do a Star Wars cake by September for my stepson so goodluck and may the force be with you icon_lol.gif

saberger Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile