Not Sure How To Price Wedding Cake

Business By bfisher11 Updated 2 Mar 2006 , 6:18pm by bfisher11

bfisher11 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bfisher11 Posted 1 Mar 2006 , 4:24pm
post #1 of 6

Hi! I have been doing cakes on the side out of my home for about 6 years now. Usually for family. Now my sister-in-law asked me to do a wedding cake for one of her friends. She wants it to look like the one I have attached, just different colored flowers. I charged my cousin $150 for this cake. Is this to much or not enough for a cake like this. Can anyone help me figure out a fair asking price for my wedding cakes???Each layer is 2 2"cakes?
LL

5 replies
cat121481 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cat121481 Posted 1 Mar 2006 , 5:41pm
post #2 of 6

I think you undercharged!!! I don't know how much I would charge for that, but I know that it would be a lot more than $150.

wendysue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wendysue Posted 1 Mar 2006 , 6:21pm
post #3 of 6

I would recommend charging be the slice on any wedding cake. Use the guides that Wilton sets for how many servings you get with each pan and set a price per slice... $1.50 is the cheapest you should go. Depending on where you live and how much detail, whether you place a filling in the center, whether you use fondant or just buttercream should be considered too. In my area grocery stores charge $1.50 and most decorators (those who don't own a bakery) charge about $2- $2.50 per slice. There are others that charge $4 or $5. I don't do many wedding cakes, but for my work I start at $1.75 per slice... this is mainly due to the fact that I don't have a lot of experience. If I really get into doing wedding cakes I will certainly charge more.

You can call decorators in your area and just ask what they charge per slice. They'll be used to that question and won't ever suspect that you are a competitor. Just tell them you're pricing cakes. icon_lol.gif