Some Questions

Decorating By Taigen Updated 17 Feb 2006 , 8:31pm by Cakeman66

Taigen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Taigen Posted 17 Feb 2006 , 2:26pm
post #1 of 4

Just wondering if anyone can help with these questions as I am very new to all this.
#1 - Is it really a bad idea to use eggs for royal frosting? I am hoping that what I make( flowers, bugs etc.) in the next few weeks will store until just before the wedding in August.
#2 - Can you tint royal frosting black for the bug bodies and if so is there a special way?
#3 - How long does candy clay last and how do you store it? How do you tint it black?
#4 - How long does gum paste last and how do you store it, also can it be tinted black?

As you can see by the questions I am trying to figure out the best way to make the bug bodies as I would really like to get them done ahead of time if that is at all possible. I have painted several butterflies and they are stored in ziplock bags, not cut out yet. I am trying different ideas for the dragonfly wings today.
I bought the gumtex (?) glucose, glycerin etc. but didn't buy the meringue powder as I have always used real egg whites for my meringue cookies etc. I also bought white candy melts so I can tint different colours, just not sure how to do black.
If anyone can help with these questions it would be much appreciated. I will try and post some pics of the butterflies I have done already a bit later. My favorite is the yellow swallow tail, I was really pleased with how it turned out.
Thanks

3 replies
Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 17 Feb 2006 , 2:36pm
post #2 of 4