What's Your Opinion?

Decorating By daisyblue Updated 26 Mar 2007 , 11:03pm by daisyblue

daisyblue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
daisyblue Posted 13 Mar 2007 , 11:50pm
post #1 of 9

Hi all! I wanted to see if I could get your opinion on if you think I asked too high of a price for a cake. I've been making cakes for people I work with for several months now & everyone there really likes them. (I've had several repeat orders) On Monday I had a girl to ask me if I would be able to make a small 2 tiered anniversary cake for this Saturday. She was very excited about it when she was telling me about the party & said she couldn't wait to get the cake for it. She told me she just wanted about an 8 inch bottom cake & then asked if I could give her a price. I didn't have time to give her the info right then but I e-mailed her later in the day & I told her I could do a 2 tiered cake with an 8" bottom tier & a 4" top. I said with just icing & a border, it would be $40 & with flowers, or other decorations, it would be $50. She e-mailed me back & said she would check with her relative & let me know. Well, since then I've not heard anything from her. I think she was thinking I wouldn't ask for that much because she kept stressing she just wanted a 'little cake'. What's your opinion of this & if my price was not right, what would you have asked for? Thanks guys!

8 replies
heiser73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heiser73 Posted 14 Mar 2007 , 12:50am
post #2 of 9

I don't think that is unreasonable at all! That is what I would have charged as well. Maybe you could email her back and just ask her if there is a problem, or ask her how much she wants to spend and then tell her what you can do for that amount. Let me know what happens!

shelbur10 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shelbur10 Posted 14 Mar 2007 , 12:54am
post #3 of 9