Great Wedding Cake Recipes Needed

Decorating By Wandootie Updated 13 Mar 2007 , 8:13pm by have2kids

Wandootie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Wandootie Posted 13 Mar 2007 , 1:38pm
post #1 of 12

Good Morning, ladies & gents!

I have been asked to do a wedding cake for April 7, and although I have done 1 other wedding cake before, it was not stacked together and I used boxed mixes in which I doctored. This cake will be stacked and the tiers are 14-12-10-8. I'm really scared of this. icon_sad.gif

I guess what I'm asking is, do any of you have really good, moist cake recipes that will hold up to this weight? I will, of course, be doweling the layers, but I was just needing some advise on recipes. Something that has been tried and true to most of you.

I will also be transporting this cake assembled about 30 miles away. I have never done this before, either.

Any advise will, as always, be greatly appreciated.

Wanda

11 replies
Wandootie Posted 13 Mar 2007 , 2:08pm
post #2 of 12

Bumping!

nglez09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nglez09 Posted 13 Mar 2007 , 2:18pm
post #3 of 12

I have a really dense chocolate cake recipe that I'd be willing to share, but it's scratch. I don't have it with me, but I can send it to you when I get home. Is that what you're looking for? It's really sturdy; it's perfect for a multi-tiered wedding cake.

heiser73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heiser73 Posted 13 Mar 2007 , 2:19pm
post #4 of 12

I'm not sure as I have only stacked two tiers before, but the white almond sour cream cake seemed to hold up tremendously. I would think it would work for your cake. But I'm not sure! I'm sure someone else knows more about this than I do, but if I had to bake one right now that is what I would try. I hope that helps.

revel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
revel Posted 13 Mar 2007 , 2:22pm
post #5 of 12

What flavor are you looking for?

Lauree Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lauree Posted 13 Mar 2007 , 2:24pm
post #6 of 12