How Long Did It Take You To Get A Good Amt Of Clients

Business By dandy207 Updated 10 Feb 2006 , 12:58pm by Sherry0565

dandy207 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dandy207 Posted 10 Feb 2006 , 6:47am
post #1 of 6

Im just starting out with the whole cake making thing, and i would like to eventually start selling cake out of my home. How long did it take most of you to get a good amt of buisness?

5 replies
peg818 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peg818 Posted 10 Feb 2006 , 12:33pm
post #2 of 6

i'm still working on that, it really depends on if you are in an area that allows you to advertise and if you are ready to put yourself out there.

I work outside the home full time, so i'm limited with how much i can do on the side. I'm also, not very outgoing, so its difficult for me to put myself out there and sell.

Sorry i guess this doesn't really help you, just know that people have a way of finding you. I even have an unlisted number and still get calls for cakes, but i limit myself to no more then two a week. Many weeks i have nothing, then all of a sudden i'll get bombarded with inquiries.

Mac Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mac Posted 10 Feb 2006 , 12:38pm
post #3 of 6

Just in the last 2 years my business has really grown, but I wasn't actively seeking clients. I made a cake for a teacher at the school I worked at and then people just started calling. I have also gotten associated with a cooking school/retail kitchen gadget store.

Try introducing yourself to wedding/formal stores, take samples to your doctor's office, schools, vet's office and at work.

dydemus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dydemus Posted 10 Feb 2006 , 12:38pm
post #4 of 6