Website For An Unlicensed Baker

Business By didi5 Updated 14 Feb 2006 , 4:57am by didi5

didi5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
didi5 Posted 7 Feb 2006 , 6:19pm
post #1 of 13

I have a question... I just need to get more information. If I am an unlicensed baker I'm not allowed to advertise anywhere else but am I allowed to have my own website that has my company name? Being inspired by all the websites I see here, I want to start my own too but am afraid that someone will come after me if they saw it on the web. If I get somebody's business from the web, would that be selling to the public then I would need to be licensed? Need your guidance here please...

12 replies
Jenn123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jenn123 Posted 7 Feb 2006 , 6:41pm
post #2 of 13

I guess it depends on how you present your website. If you approach it as a photo album to say "here's what I've done," then I don't see a problem. You can still use to show people what you can do and then talk to them about their choices.

If you approach it as a sales site, including prices and requests for orders, you might have a problem. My inspector told me that ANY advertising is unacceptable.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 8 Feb 2006 , 12:06am
post #3 of 13

I don't have a business but do have my cakes on a website, though I have been lazy about updating it. I don't think they can stop you from having a website with your cakes on it.

Now I would not include prices, flavors, or any mention of selling your cakes, as that would be advertising.

I would include your email address and if you feel comforatable with it, the area you live in. If someone decides to email you about your cakes then you can decide then what you want to do.

BJsGRL Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BJsGRL Posted 9 Feb 2006 , 3:54am
post #4 of 13