The Perfect Chocolate Cake

Baking By chixbaby27 Updated 9 Apr 2005 , 10:56pm by AngelWendy

chixbaby27 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chixbaby27 Posted 8 Apr 2005 , 1:45pm
post #1 of 12

I looked through the recipes here and didn't find exactly what I'm looking for...at least I don't think I did. icon_confused.gif I saw the "chocolate cake" thread, but wasn't sure which of those would work best for what I want to try to do.

I want to make my dad a chocolate cake (the chocolatier the better for him!), ice with buttercream frosting and cover in chocolate mmf (which I've never used before, so it'll be new to me!)

I wondered if anyone has a cake that rises really well (or that makes enough batter that I could bake it in two of the really tall 8" pans and tort).

I'm new to decorating, so any direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

11 replies
Lisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa Posted 8 Apr 2005 , 2:19pm
post #2 of 12

The chocolatiest chocolate cake I've ever made was made using a chocolate cake mix (prep according to directions but replace water with milk), 1 Cup sourcream, 1 box of chocolate pudding and 1 Cup of chocolate chips. Bake at 325 for about an hour. It was almost too much chocolate for my tastes but a chocoholic would love it. It rises fine but is very dense. You would need to double the recipe to do 2 deep 8" cakes and you might have a little batter left over.

MrsMissey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsMissey Posted 8 Apr 2005 , 2:40pm
post #3 of 12

There is a good scratch cake recipe on the back of the Hershey's cocoa container!

Hershey's "Perfectly Chocolate" Chocolate Cake
2 c. sugar
1-3/4c. All purpose flour
3/4 c. Hershey's Cocoa (powder)
1-1/2 tsp. baking powder
1-1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
2 eggs
1 c. milk
1/2 c. vegetable oil
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 c. boiling water

Preheat oven to 350*