Smooth Icing

Decorating By knittingirl Updated 5 Feb 2006 , 9:07pm by vande3boys

knittingirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
knittingirl Posted 4 Feb 2006 , 5:25pm
post #1 of 13

How doyou get your icing to look so smooth, and do certain types of icing work better with cake decorating? I haven't made my own icing yet, only used Wilton ready-made decorating icing, so I'm wondering if I should make my own royal or buttercream icing instead. I tried dipping my spreader in hot water and drying it to smooth my icing this morning, but it ends up pulling the icing away from the cake. Help - I'm new to this!

12 replies
MadeYaLook Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MadeYaLook Posted 4 Feb 2006 , 5:29pm
post #2 of 13

Welcome to CC. I am a newbie too. What a helpful, welcoming site this is. Everyone here is so nice an dwilling to answer any question.

I have read many posts on smoothing icing. A spatula from home depot is a popular one, also once you have iced your cake an dlet it sit a bit, they say to use a Viva paper towel and that it works wonders.

You best bet is to do a forum search on the topic and you will find all of the fabulous suggestions.

Be careful, I'm warning you, it is easy to get addicted!! icon_lol.gif

prettycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prettycakes Posted 4 Feb 2006 , 5:31pm
post #3 of 13

If you are using pre-made icing, check the consistancy. Is it thick, Medium, or thin? To icing a cake I have learned that it needs to be thin consistancy icing to get a smooth finish. Not runny. If it is too thick it will pull away from your cake. I have always made my own icing. I feel it gives me more control over the consistancy. Also, to a search on the paper towel method. This will give you a lot of tips.

melony1976 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melony1976 Posted 4 Feb 2006 , 5:42pm
post #4 of 13