I Really Need Duck Help!

Decorating By darby822 Updated 10 Mar 2007 , 5:43pm by Mmichellew

darby822 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
darby822 Posted 10 Mar 2007 , 7:18am
post #1 of 6

I am NOT a professional baker. I am not even a home baker who does lots of orders. Silly me I committed to making a 3D duck cake for a friends son's first birthday. FIRST birthday! I must have been out of my mind.

I tried baking a test cake tonight (the real one is due Sunday) and thank goodness I did. I thought I would just try doing in White Almond Wedding cake to see if that would be stable enough for a 3D cake. I just took it out of the oven and it is not good. Even though I filled the bottom of the pan all the way to the rim like the instructions say it did not rise to fill the top. It only rose maybe half an inch. Definitely not enough to look like a duck. So now I am sitting in my kitchen in the middle of the night stressing about this cake. I keep thinking that the 1st birthday cake lives on in pictures for someone's entire life. I can't even imagine the stress of doing a wedding cake!

Can someone please help me with this? What recipe would you use? Any other helpful hints? Please, please, please?

5 replies
ribbitfroggie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ribbitfroggie Posted 10 Mar 2007 , 11:08am
post #2 of 6