My Favorite Cake Decorating Books

Decorating By Caribou Updated 6 Feb 2006 , 6:50pm by jo_ann

Caribou Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Caribou Posted 2 Feb 2006 , 12:01am
post #1 of 11

BEWARE--Long post. I'm a writer and enjoy gabbing and sometimes just can't stop myself so be forewarned. LOL!

I mentioned in another thread that I would get a list together and here it is. I'm a newbie but I feel like I've taken a certificate program in Cake Decorating with the books I'm going through weekly. I would love to hear from everyone about their faves and comments on any of the ones I mentioned as well.

I know I'm not the only one that anxiously awaits that book in the mail from Amazon or Ebay, then upon arrival, finds a quiet place away from the day to day family sounds of a house working well and reads cake decorating books COVER TO COVER. What's not to love? I gain at least 1.5 lbs just from the pictures!

My first 3 books were the Wilton Class books. Whether you are in the classes or not, these books can be purchased at hobby stores and online. They offer the very basics of cake decorating, but you won't get the interaction you would from taking the class with a live instructor. If getting to a class is a problem, Wilton also offers several DVDs for instruction as well.

Here's the list, complete with pictures links and other info:

1. The Home Guide to Cake Decorating, by Jane Price
This is my most recent acquisition and new favorite book. It goes into the history of cake decorating and the many methods to decorate cake. Perfect for those that are interested in technique and technical. It contains pictures on nearly every page of nearly every thing related to cake decorating. Two HUGE Spatulas up!

2. The Well Decorated Cake, by Toba Garrett