Stencil Tools And Equipment Help Needed!

Decorating By Calejo Updated 1 Feb 2006 , 1:37am by mary-ann

Calejo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Calejo Posted 31 Jan 2006 , 4:06pm
post #1 of 7

ok, after taking a special order that needed a stencil to airbrush.... it took me an hour and a half (with distractions) to cut it out with nothing but a straight razorblade. I used tape and the clear document protector stuff..... not very fun to mess with all that. I want to know what stenciling equiptment and materials that I should be using if I decide to do this on a regular basis. Please help!

6 replies
Calejo Posted 31 Jan 2006 , 4:18pm
post #2 of 7

Is there anyone here who does stenciling and airbrushing? This is a technique I want to learn more about and use in my future bakery.

mary-ann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mary-ann Posted 31 Jan 2006 , 5:55pm
post #3 of 7

I have limited experience with stenciling but I've purchased blank stencils and bought a stencil cutter. It's like a soldering iron that melts the stencil for a smoother cut. I used it to make the clouds on my crystal ball and my angel cakes and the circles for my funky time cake. I use it on the cake board too (foam board covered with thinned royal icing). I love the spray paint technique but any nicks in the icing show the color underneath so you need to be careful. Also, I sometimes smeared the circles if I moved the stencil while it was touching other painted areas. I have a cake stencil book at home that is really amazing. I'll let you know what it is later.
Mary Ann

justsweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Calejo Posted 31 Jan 2006 , 6:50pm
post #5 of 7

thank you so much!

sweetcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetcakes Posted 31 Jan 2006 , 8:01pm
post #6 of 7