Total Newbie Question...removing Cake From Pan

Decorating By dizzy94 Updated 28 Jan 2006 , 2:15pm by atkin600

dizzy94 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dizzy94 Posted 27 Jan 2006 , 4:18pm
post #1 of 11

Ok I need to know when I am removing a cake from a standard 9x13 metal pan do I leave the cake cool completely or do I take it out while still warm?

Thanks for bearing with me icon_rolleyes.gif

10 replies
bulldog Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bulldog Posted 27 Jan 2006 , 4:28pm
post #2 of 11

I put the cooling rack on top of the pan and flip it over. I take a knife ond run it around the edges. I do it before it cools.

chaptlps Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chaptlps Posted 27 Jan 2006 , 4:29pm
post #3 of 11

You might want to let it cool for about 15 minutes before you flip it. Make sure that you run a spatula around the edge first to loosen it up. Place your board on top of the cake and pan. Flip them as one unit. Tap the bottom of your pan with your hand (breaks the seal of the cake from the bottom of the pan). And carefully remove the pan. Let the cake finish cooling before decorating.
Just a note: If you find that the cake is sticking to the bottom of the pan, even with all your efforts to keep it from doin so, place a piece of parchment paper the same size as the bottom of your pan into the bottom of it and grease and flour it as well. Helps in torting (cutting the cake to make layers).
Hope these help ya and welcome to cc.

LisaMS Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LisaMS Posted 27 Jan 2006 , 4:39pm
post #4 of 11

Wax paper is great stuff. I always spray my pans with cooking spray then lay the wax paper into the 9 x 13 pan where it goes up two sides (fits perfectly) Then I cut strips for other two sides of the pan. Not only will it make getting the cake out of the pan easier, but I really think it helps keep the outer part of the cake from getting too hard.