Navy "wings" Idea Needed

Decorating By tabs Updated 8 Apr 2005 , 10:28am by ump107

tabs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tabs Posted 4 Apr 2005 , 7:11pm
post #1 of 8

Badly!

I am stumped here. My friend's husband just finished flight school and is getting his wings this week. I wanted to make a cake but I'm not really sure what to make or what to write on the cake. I can't come up with anything "snappy", if that makes sense icon_wink.gif I hate the blah "congratulations.." messages, yet I might have to resort to that. /insert panic mode

I was thinking about cutting a plane out of a sheet cake? I dunno, I've never done anything like that before. I could try though. I jokingly told my sister that I could use my castle mold and put a plastic plane crashing into it, but we didn't think that was too appropriate icon_evil.gif hahahah

Ok I'm going to quit rambling and let some of you give me some ideas! icon_biggrin.gif

7 replies
m0use Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
m0use Posted 4 Apr 2005 , 11:45pm
post #2 of 8

Here's an idea- "Flying high and loud keep the tradion proud" or something like that.
If you aren't up to a sculpted cake, do a buttercream transfer of his wings that he will be getting.

Lisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa Posted 5 Apr 2005 , 12:04am
post #3 of 8

Did his flight school have a motto? You could do a cake shaped like his wings. This might be easier than a plane and much more appropriate than a plane crashing into castle--LOL!

tabs Posted 5 Apr 2005 , 1:18am
post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by lisa

Did his flight school have a motto? You could do a cake shaped like his wings. This might be easier than a plane and much more appropriate than a plane crashing into castle--LOL!