Spreading Swiss Meringue Buttercream

Decorating By mlrojas Updated 28 Feb 2007 , 12:31am by mlrojas

mlrojas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mlrojas Posted 27 Feb 2007 , 6:54pm
post #1 of 9

Hi!

I just made Martha Stewart's Strawberry Swiss Meringue Buttercream and it taste delicious. Almost like light, fluffy ice cream. My question is for those who have decorated with SMBC, can you get a smooth finish like you can with the traditional buttercream (butter, shortening, powdered sugar)? If so, does it need to chill or set at room temp first? Just wondering how easy or difficult this will be. Thanks!

8 replies
yellowjacket Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yellowjacket Posted 27 Feb 2007 , 7:23pm
post #2 of 9

I'm glad you liked the SMBC! I pretty much always use IMBC or SMBC, and I love them! You can see the pics of my cakes to see how smooth I can get them. But I'm not a professional, and I've seen IMBC/SMBC cakes much smoother than mine!

I frost the cake with both the icing and cake at room temperature. No trick really, it just takes some practice. I do usually refrigerate my cake after that usually, and decorate it when it's cold.

ShabbyChic_Confections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShabbyChic_Confections Posted 27 Feb 2007 , 7:30pm
post #3 of 9

I never tried before, does it crust?

ShirleyW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShirleyW Posted 27 Feb 2007 , 7:39pm
post #4 of 9

I crumb coat first and then chill. I try to get my final icing as smooth as possible while the icing is soft and fresh, I use an icing spatula with a really flexible blade. I heat the spatula with very hot water, wipe on a towel and smooth. I also use a chocolate scraper or putty knife, heated, for the sides. I don't refrigerate till it is finished. The upside down icing technique by Jeff Arnett works well for nice smooth edges, I just never seem to remember to do it that way until after I have begun icing the cake. His tutorial is posted here at CC.