Working With Other People

Decorating By pinknlee Updated 25 Feb 2007 , 9:58pm by ValMommytoDanny

pinknlee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinknlee Posted 23 Feb 2007 , 11:46pm
post #1 of 10

I normally decorate cakes by myself. However, I am making a big cake in limited time so someone is going to help me. It is a good friend, so if I snap orders I know she won't take it wrong. I am working in a kitchen I have never used before icon_cry.gif.

Does anyone have any helpful hints on what to do with another person in the kitchen? She does not know what she is doing. That can be good and bad.

Any good tips for using a kitchen I have never cooked in before?

9 replies
Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 24 Feb 2007 , 12:01am
post #2 of 10

does she at least know the basics: mix, fold, measure, how to follow a recipe?

if so....a list of things you need her to make and the order to make them in. can even have all ingredients out and ready.

so she can mix the BC, mix the cakes, premeasure etc. for you.

as for kitchen visit day before or go extra early to have time to get lay of the land.... I'd do day before and use it to drop off the supplies.

pinknlee Posted 24 Feb 2007 , 12:47am
post #3 of 10

Would you type out a list of things that both of us are going to do? I am normally not organized. I really need to be this time. In my kitchen, I work in advance and can't do that this time. I am nervous. I am afriad I am going to forget something. Also, I have never had anyone do the mixing and such for me before. I want to be friends in the end. I know we will be.

Cake making is so important to me and I want this to be the best cake it can be.

Here I go going on and on. I guess I am more nervous than I thought.

bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 24 Feb 2007 , 12:53am
post #4 of 10