Luster Dust...spray On? Brush On? Anyone Use It On Mmf?

Decorating By shellypf Updated 21 Feb 2007 , 8:34pm by SugarBakerz

shellypf Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shellypf Posted 21 Feb 2007 , 4:45am
post #1 of 11

Hi all out there this evening! I finally got some luster dust and was experimenting with it this eve. Someone at the shop mentioned they use a spray bottle to mist it on the finished fondant. I tested it on a small section of fresh made MMF and it came out a little blotchy. I always read you dont need much so about how much would you add to 1 tablespoon? about a 1/4 teaspoon? I am probably going to brush it over the whole cake in MMF. I have never done this before...will the vodka make the MMF taste like vodka? Any input would be appreciated...Thanks so much

10 replies
karmicflower Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karmicflower Posted 21 Feb 2007 , 4:49am
post #2 of 11

Hi there, I have never sprayed it before, i heard of it being sprayed with an airbrush though. I usually mix it with either vodka or lemon extract and apply it with a brush. The alcohol evaporated and i have never been able to taste the vodka. The lemon gives it a nice scent. If you have any questions you can always pm me.

HTH

Jenn

dandelion56602 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dandelion56602 Posted 21 Feb 2007 , 5:00am
post #3 of 11

So, can you use lemon extract instead of vodka? The closest store that carries hard liquor is 45 min away & I don't drink it so I would hate to buy a bottle to use just for that & have it in my freezer forever. Also, would something like a Zima work or not? Does the lemon extract flavor the fondant or just scent it?

I'm planning on making a bow for the first time & coloring it w/ gold luster dust for a cake this weekend.

NewbeeBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NewbeeBaker Posted 21 Feb 2007 , 5:29am
post #4 of 11