How Frustrating!!!!

Business By lecrn Updated 18 Feb 2007 , 10:20pm by tiggy2

lecrn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lecrn Posted 18 Feb 2007 , 12:09am
post #1 of 9

Calling all TN bakers:
I'm still new to this wonderful world of cake decorating, & I'm becoming discouraged about someday having my own business ran from home. I live in TN, & I just visited the Dpt. of Ag. website. I already see lots of problems with the structure of my kitchen. First, of all my home has an open floorplan. There's 2 entries into the kitchen neither have doors, and according to the regulations, the room must be completely closed off. Is there any way to get around this? Second, it states that you can sell as long as you don't exceed 100units of sale/week. What's 100units?
I have heard that as long as you sale to "friends & family", you don't necessarily need to acquire a license. Is that true?
One more question, I thought about getting business cards. Is that a bad idea if I'm not licensed?

8 replies
alicegop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alicegop Posted 18 Feb 2007 , 3:04am
post #2 of 9

At least you CAN work in your house. I'm up a creek here in CA! Don't be discouraged....... once you jump the hoops you'll be glad.

royalfrosting Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
royalfrosting Posted 18 Feb 2007 , 7:23am
post #3 of 9