Scooby Doo Cake

Decorating By tp7 Updated 24 Nov 2005 , 4:04pm by MrsMissey

tp7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tp7 Posted 20 Nov 2005 , 9:49pm
post #1 of 12

I'm doing a SD theme for my soon to be 5yr and ned some cake ideas. I think I want to make the Mystery Machine Van. I was planing on either buying a poundcake or making a loaf shaped cake. Then some how decorating it to look like the van. Has anyone done this before and are there ant tips i should know before atempting this? Like I'm not sure how to do the name on the side of the van. Should I somehow copy it and print it out and maybe use fondant to create it? Same w/the flowers that are on the van. I'm pretty new to this so any advice would help!! Thanks
LL

11 replies
booberfrog Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
booberfrog Posted 20 Nov 2005 , 10:01pm
post #2 of 12

I think I've actually seen a cake pan shaped like a 3-d van by Wilton, I think it's retired though might find it on ebay.

tp7 Posted 20 Nov 2005 , 10:09pm
post #3 of 12

I forgot to mention I want it to be a 3D cake and his party is next weekend.

booberfrog Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
booberfrog Posted 20 Nov 2005 , 10:14pm
post #4 of 12

Here is the link to a 3-d cake pan on ebay, only 5 hours left and no bids, might take a look
http://cgi.ebay.com/Van-Cake-Pan_W0QQitemZ4418688208QQcategoryZ25466QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

traci Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
traci Posted 20 Nov 2005 , 10:38pm
post #5 of 12

Here are a couple of ideas that I found:
http://www.birchfields.net/gallery/albums/crafts_cakes_mysterymachine/DSCF0013.jpg

Hope that helps you some.
LL

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 20 Nov 2005 , 10:41pm
post #6 of 12

Go to google.com and do an image search. Back when I was lookign for ideas for my nephew's birthday cake I came across several pretty cool cakes of the van. I'd search with words like cake, scooby doo, van

Hope that helps! icon_smile.gif