Knox Gelatin

Baking By juliet Updated 27 Nov 2005 , 9:30am by auzzi

juliet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
juliet Posted 17 Nov 2005 , 8:06pm
post #1 of 16

Hi there. Does anybody know if Knox gelatin is vegan. I have to make a cake for saturday and franklly, it's driving me crazy! I had to call the headquarters of a few companies and I just don't have time to do that! thanks....

15 replies
bakers2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakers2 Posted 17 Nov 2005 , 8:08pm
post #2 of 16

to my knowledge all gelatin comes from animal product - you might call the local health food store and ask about vegan gelatin....

tripletmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tripletmom Posted 17 Nov 2005 , 8:13pm
post #3 of 16

Knox gelatin is definitely not vegan.

If your recipe calls for gelatin you might want to try agar which also makes a gelatin however it is plant based (some sort of seaweed I think). I have found it in stores that carry Vietnamese products. It looks like white straw bundled up. You could even try a health food/natural products store as well.

juliet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
juliet Posted 17 Nov 2005 , 8:15pm
post #4 of 16

Thanks, both of you. Have you ever tried using agar in fondant?

tripletmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tripletmom Posted 17 Nov 2005 , 8:21pm
post #5 of 16

Honestly, no. I have used it as a flavoured gelatin with vanilla sugar though. It was stiffer than regular gelatin, much different texture. There was someone else on this board that wanted something similar so you might do a search for that. Also, don't try using or making marshamllow fondant as marshmallows already contain gelatin and vegans would not eat standard marshmallows. Once again, try the health food shops for vegan marshamllows and maybe give that a try.

Good luck!

itsacake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
itsacake Posted 18 Nov 2005 , 10:22pm
post #6 of 16

I used kosher marshmallows to make fondant and it was horrible. It also wasn't vegan, but my point is that it may not work, so if you want to do that, and can even FIND vegan marshmallows, do a trial batch first.

I used kosher gelatin (that was vegan) to make fondant and that didn't work at all. I tried it twice and it didn't work either time. It may work with agar--I think Alimonkey may have done it, as I got the recipe from her--but I haven't tried it yet. Again, make sure it works before you design your cake around it. If you want me to find the recipe for, PM me, or PM heer to see if she's done it.

I have Bakels Pettinice and Satinice and just checked the labels. Neither one lists gelatin on the label and they are both certified kosher and pareve. This doesn't necessarily make them vegan, because of the sugar considerations discussed elsewhere and some other complicated rules about kashrut (keeping kosher), but it tends in that direction.

You could e-mail Bakels:

or Satin Fine Foods

Let us know what you find out.

ellepal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ellepal Posted 18 Nov 2005 , 10:28pm
post #7 of 16

Hey, how about rolled buttercream instead, which uses corn syrup, crisco, butter flavoring, and powdered sugar. No animal products at all. I believe there is a recipe for it on here, and it actually tastes like a decorators buttercream..not bad at all.

alimonkey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alimonkey Posted 18 Nov 2005 , 10:54pm
post #8 of 16

Here's the link to the fondant itsacake is talking about. I found it on the Houston Cake Club website. It's made in 2 parts, the first is candy clay, the second is fondant and they're kneaded together. Unfortunately the only place you can find vegan candy melts is online, though I don't remember the website, itsacake has that I'm sure.

I made it once using only the fondant part without the candy clay and it turned out pretty well, but it was kind of sticky. I was experimenting with several recipes at the time so I mixed it half & half with Collette Peters recipe before I used it but I think it would be fine if you just let it rest overnight if possible then knead in more powdered sugar as needed at the end.

I believe most store-bought fondants are made without gelatin, so they're vegan. I know Satin Ice is, itsacake uses Pettinice, so that's vegan, and I believe Wilton is, but yuck on that one, vegan or not. icon_razz.gif

(oops, forgot the link)

itsacake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
itsacake Posted 18 Nov 2005 , 11:06pm
post #9 of 16

Hi Alimonkey!

I can only vouch for kosher/pareve on the Pettinice and Satinice. Fish and eggs are both "pareve" in the peculiarities of kasruth, so something can be pareve and not vegan. I'm pretty sure that the commercial fondants do not use anything egg or fish derived, and it would seem that bone char used in sugar production would not be allowed in a kosher/pareve product, but kosher/pareve doesn't necessarily prove vegan, so it would always be better to check.

soygurl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
soygurl Posted 18 Nov 2005 , 11:24pm
post #10 of 16

as everyone else said, gelatin is not vegan, as it is made from animal bones. I've been wanting to try making fondan with vegan marshmallows, but I haven't had time yet. here is a link to a brand that might work though:

Also beware that cane sugars are usualy proccesed with bone char from animals and is not vegan, but beet sugar is usually fine, as is evaporated cane juce.

chaptlps Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chaptlps Posted 18 Nov 2005 , 11:32pm
post #11 of 16

How about pectin would that work?

alimonkey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alimonkey Posted 18 Nov 2005 , 11:44pm
post #12 of 16

No, pectin doesn't have the structure necessary. Agar agar is the best substitute for gelatin but isn't 1:1 even substitution.

Satin Ice is definitely vegan, and I imagine Pettinice is as well. I sure hope it doesn't have fish in it. icon_biggrin.gif

And no, they're not super-strictly vegan because of the sugar, which is most likely processed with animal bone char. You'll need to check with your clients to find out how strict they are. My sister & her fiance used to be super-strict and used only beet sugar. They still use beet sugar exclusively for most of their cooking but will buy products that contain sugar, knowing that most sugar is cane sugar. For more info on this particular argument, check out this link. It's a great Q&A about veganism, this particular Q is about sugar.

itsacake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
itsacake Posted 19 Nov 2005 , 8:23am
post #13 of 16

Well.....yes..... I don't guess there is anything of animal origin in either Pettinice or SatinIce, but I don't speak from authority and I do know there are those fish gelatin marshmallows out there, not to mention anchovies in Worchesteshire sauce, so I just want to disavow any positive knowledge that these products are vegan. icon_lol.gif And then there are vegans and vegans...... icon_rolleyes.gif some more strict than others.

So.... yes...... I'm being pedantic, but I will only agree to kosher and pareve--becasue it says that on the label. Vegan I can't guarantee, even though, like Alimonkey, I think it is likely that they are.

Juliet, I'm sure this discussion is now way too late for your Saturday cake, but please let us know how you solved your problem. I'm really interested in knowing.

juliet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
juliet Posted 21 Nov 2005 , 4:38am
post #14 of 16

So the b-day was yesterday. I ended up making vegan buttercream and vegan chocolate cake. I tought it was disgusting, it all turned out very dry. I think if I tweak with the receipe a little bit, it will be better next time. Everyone but me seemed to love it tough, not a morcel of cake was left. I don't know if they were just being polite or they just had a few too many martinis tough...

It's great to hear about the fondant. They are getting married and i am gonna make their cake as a gift (you can bet I'm gonna be practicing my cake receipe for the next little whilt). It should be ok, they want a cupcake cake with one layer of cake on top. As far as taste goes what are your favorite, satin ice or pettinice(spelling?). Thanks again for the help!

juliet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
juliet Posted 21 Nov 2005 , 4:49am
post #15 of 16

So the d-day was yesterday. I ended up making vegan buttercream. I need to tweak with the receipe (both buttercream and cake) cause it turned out very dry... I tought they were pretty disgusting, but everyone else seemed to like it, everything got eaten. I don't know if they were just trying to be polite or if they just had a few too many martinis tough....

As far as the fondant, what brand do you think tastes better? I am making the same friends their wedding cake and they want a cupcake cake with one layer of cake on top(fondant). Thank goodness their wedding isn't until next september, I'll have time to perfect my cake receipe! Thanks again for all your help!

auzzi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auzzi Posted 27 Nov 2005 , 9:30am
post #16 of 16

Pettinice White Icing : Icing Sugar,Glucose,Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil,Water,Gum Tragacanth,Glycerine,Cellulose Gum,Modified Food Starch,Potassium Sorbate,Acetic Acid,Titanium dioxide,Vanilla Flavour

Quote by @%username% on %date%