Anyone Have Recipes To Spruce Up A Chocolate Cake Mix?

Decorating By Anna31 Updated 13 Feb 2007 , 12:23am by bkdcakes

Anna31 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Anna31 Posted 12 Feb 2007 , 10:07pm
post #1 of 15

I'm looking for a recipe to give my chocolate cake more of a from scratch taste and better flavor. I'm very new to cc but have searched the recipes and haven't found quite what I'm looking for. Don't want chocolate chips in it. Help! javascript:emoticon('icon_smile.gif')
Smile

14 replies
patton78 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
patton78 Posted 12 Feb 2007 , 10:14pm
post #2 of 15

Are you using a box mix? I never used to like chocolate cake until I "docotored" up a Devils Food Cake mix. Here is the recipe:
1 package Devils Food Cake mix (Pillsbury or Betty Crocker)
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1 1/3 cups buttermilk
1/2 cup oil
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
Mix and bake according to package directions

Narie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Narie Posted 12 Feb 2007 , 10:14pm
post #3 of 15

Sounds like you need Anne Byrn's "Chocolate Cake Doctor." I just got my copy from Amazon. Looks good but I haven't tried any of the recipes yet.

Anna31 Posted 12 Feb 2007 , 10:20pm
post #4 of 15

Thank you both for the ideas! Yes, I use box mixes. I will deffinately write down the recipe you gave me and try it! It sounds great! Have been trying to experiment and try new things. I need to branch out a little. Also, I will look up that book. I love Amazon.com!!! Anna

sking Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sking Posted 12 Feb 2007 , 10:25pm
post #5 of 15

look under cake mix recipes for "Blue Ribbon Moist and Fudgey Chocolate Cake", if you like a strong chocolate cake this is very good

Anna31 Posted 12 Feb 2007 , 10:27pm
post #6 of 15

THanks! I will look for it! Man, I love this site!!!! Anna

cakeladydi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeladydi Posted 12 Feb 2007 , 10:29pm
post #7 of 15

Here's one more to add to your recipe collection: