Keeping Extra Ganache

Decorating By valstupendo Updated 14 Feb 2007 , 7:37pm by cheftaz

valstupendo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
valstupendo Posted 12 Feb 2007 , 3:36pm
post #1 of 18

I need to make some samples for a bride to taste of different chocolate cakes and icings/fondants/ganache to see which she likes best. I have no need for any of these things for orders right now, so how would I go about making just enough for samples? Or, can I make a full recipe and save the extras? How long can you keep ganache to use later? If I were going to make a few different variations of the actual "cake" flavours, should I bake them as cupcakes for her to try? Any suggestions? This is my first time with a bride.
Thanks all!

17 replies
tye Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tye Posted 12 Feb 2007 , 3:44pm
post #2 of 18

I would suggest cupcakes... you can bake a full batch then freeze them for future tastings... ganache can be frozen for a very long time..

cindy6250 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cindy6250 Posted 12 Feb 2007 , 3:46pm
post #3 of 18

I would think you can just cut the recipe way down for ganache. It is a very easy recipe to half and so forth. You can also store left overs in the frig for a couple of weeks.

You could make several small cakes and just put the extras in the freezer, well wrapped. If you don't want to serve them for samples, think Cake Balls. Hope this helps.

Cindy

jmt1714 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jmt1714 Posted 12 Feb 2007 , 4:36pm
post #4 of 18

it freezes well also.

khoudek Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
khoudek Posted 12 Feb 2007 , 6:01pm
post #5 of 18

When I can get the leftovers away from my husband, I freeze them.

valstupendo Posted 12 Feb 2007 , 6:53pm
post #6 of 18