I Have $100 To Amazon, Is Toba Garrett's Book Worth The $65?

Decorating By my2sunshines Updated 11 Feb 2007 , 7:23pm by cakemommy

my2sunshines Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
my2sunshines Posted 9 Feb 2007 , 6:57am
post #1 of 37

I'll start by saying that I love this hobby. I definitely put out more money then I take in though LOL . I am self taught and am looking for a book to teach me more step by step and help me tighten up my basic decorating skills. I have $100 gc to amazon. Toba's book is $65 which takes a big chunk out of my $ but if it's worth it and I am will to splurge since it was a gift I will. Can anyone recommend one more book? I already have Debbie Brown books, but I am looking for something not so much w/ fondant since I haven't mastered it yet.

Thanks for the help icon_smile.gif
Kim in NJ

36 replies
melysa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melysa Posted 9 Feb 2007 , 7:11am
post #2 of 37

cakewalk by margaret braun

cakes to dream on -and- birthday cakes by collette peters

tobas book is very detailed and educational. her style seems to be very traditional, working alot with fondant and royal icing/stringwork. gumpaste florals etc...

i learned alot from the book (library) but it is not my personal style so i wouldnt go and buy it...but that is just my taste. go to your library and if they dont have it, ask if they have an inter library loan, it cost me 1.75 for shipping to have the book for 3 weeks, sent from another library. cheaper alternative to see for yourself if you really want the book.

emmascakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emmascakes Posted 9 Feb 2007 , 7:24am
post #3 of 37

Here's my amazon review for this book: