Baking Cakes In Convection Oven

Decorating By eneq Updated 28 Jan 2014 , 10:15pm by mrsjaws

eneq Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
eneq Posted 9 Feb 2007 , 3:41am
post #1 of 18

I have a convection oven but have only baked cakes using standard bake. Do any of you bake your cakes in convection mode? if so, do you adjust the temperature or the bake time? how do the cakes turn out? I'm new to all this so i was just wondering...

17 replies
Crakerz01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crakerz01 Posted 9 Feb 2007 , 3:43am
post #2 of 18

I was wondering the same thing. We just got a new convection oven and I have yet to try it.

Tolinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tolinda Posted 9 Feb 2007 , 3:49am
post #3 of 18

i found a link about cooking in convection ovens. maybe this will help!

http://www.taunton.com/finecooking/pages/c00042.asp

ang_ty95 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ang_ty95 Posted 9 Feb 2007 , 3:50am
post #4 of 18

I purchased a convection oven for my hobby and find the bake time is longer BUT the cooking is even. Also I do adjust the temperature by 25 degrees however, my oven does have an auto conversion. I was a little surprised because I thought convection was supposed to be faster.

mjs4492 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mjs4492 Posted 9 Feb 2007 , 3:50am
post #5 of 18

I'm so glad someone posted this!! I have a convection oven and get real confused reading how your supposed to use 325 and not 350 and I've never had trouble with the centers of my cakes not being done. I do use a core for the 12" and up rounds and large sheet cakes. I even stopped using the baking strips.
When I start, I press "bake", enter "350" and then press the "convection convert" button (on my stove it's right next to the bake button). When I first started using it last Jan, I had nothing but problems even with cookies using just the "bake" mode. I even called service out because the stove wasn't even a month old.