Wedding Cake Disaster!!!

Decorating By donnao334 Updated 3 May 2017 , 1:17am by CakeoLater

donnao334 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
donnao334 Posted 2 May 2017 , 6:20pm
post #1 of 4

Hi. I am a self taught cake decorator starting when I was 13 years old and have been decorating cakes for many years. I am by no means a professional at it as I do it mainly for friends and family. This past weekend was  my daughter's wedding. I decorated a beautiful cake and tried putting filling in between the layers on 2tiers. I'm not sure if this was the problem or not and I have read  several different blogs since this weekend. My tiers with the filling kept  sagging, and I originally thought it was a dowel rod problem. Disassembled the cake and placed larger rods ;and which now I know that was a big mistake.  After the second assembly the cake still looked great but on the way to the venue it started falling apart and could not be repaired. I also noticed that the icing was peeling off from the side. I did not use the zero trans fat Crisco because I have had problems with that in the past.  The cake seemed too moist and just completely fell apart. Did the filling soak in and cause the cake to get too moist? This was only my 2nd time filling a cake. It was a yellow cake recipe that I have used for 25 years. Nothing was different except the filling. Please help. It was a disaster. 

3 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 2 May 2017 , 9:29pm
post #2 of 4

Sounds like you really had more than one problem - so very sorry! :(   

......Disassembled the cake and placed larger rods ;and which now I know that was a big mistake.......