Sturdy, Smooth And Delicious Buttercream Recipe?

Decorating By CoolAsCake Updated 14 Oct 2016 , 4:54am by CoolAsCake

CoolAsCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CoolAsCake Posted 12 Oct 2016 , 3:28pm
post #1 of 20

Hello everyone,

I'm a self-taught decorator/baker and I'm very excited to be here with you all!

I'm currently experimenting with different buttercreams to find one that is smooth and not too sweet like Swiss Meringue Buttercream (SMBC) but that is also sturdy and pipes well like American Buttercream.

I really love the satiny texture and not too sweet flavour of SMBC but I find that it difficult to work with.  It seems to  melt slightly when covering a cake even if the weather is cold or not hot. It also doesn't colour easily.

I find American Buttercream wonderful to work with as it pipes like a dream and is so sturdy. However, I find it much too sweet for me and that the texture is gritty.

I'm  wondering if you could please share your thoughts and experiences on the following questions about buttercream?

1. Do you find SMBC tends to melt when frosting a cake?  Is there a way to make it sturdier?

2. Is American Buttercream naturally gritty or am I doing something wrong? I find it gritty with both pure icing sugar and icing mixture (powdered sugar in the US I think).

3. Do you have a buttercream recipe that yields a satiny and not too sweet frosting  (like SMBC) but is sturdy and pipable like American Buttercream?

Thank you in advance and best wishes

19 replies
ElizabethsCakeCreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ElizabethsCakeCreations Posted 12 Oct 2016 , 5:12pm
post #2 of 20

For american buttercream I reduce the icing sugar. I put 6-7 cups in an 8 cup recipe. I also sift the icing sugar and mix it for quite a while on the mixer. Turns out beautiful!

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 12 Oct 2016 , 5:32pm
post #3 of 20