Will My Cake Melt?

Baking By maryannarogers Updated 29 Jun 2016 , 2:04am by maryannarogers

maryannarogers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maryannarogers Posted 27 Jun 2016 , 9:08pm
post #1 of 8

I am a new cake baker in need of some help from veterans!

I've done several wedding cakes, but this one is presenting me with some real challenges.  It will likely be four tiers, and will definitely have buttercream frosting.  The problem is that it is a 6 p.m. outdoor wedding on August 13 in Kentucky.  The weather could easily be 90 degrees or higher.  

I will have no access to an airconditioned building in order to keep the cake prior to the reception.  I am not a professional, so I don't have a refrigerated truck to store and stack the cake.

We will be using fresh flowers to decorate the cake, so doing that at the last minute isn't a real issue.  But I do have some questions:

1.  Can I frost the layers and freeze them so that all I have to do is assemble them and pipe a border between each layer?

2.  If I freeze the layers (the bottom will be 14" or perhaps even 16"), how long will it take them to thaw (1) frosted or (2) unfrosted?

3.  If I do something like ruffles on the layers, will it just absolutely MELT in the heat and be a pointless effort?

Has anyone else out there dealt with these "less-than-ideal" circumstances? Might you have some suggestions for me?

7 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 28 Jun 2016 , 7:36am
post #2 of 8

sure -- I wouldn't recommend ruffles -- why tempt fate right -- I would use a high humidity icing -- to your regular buttercream recipe, one normal batch size -- add a quarter cup cake or wondra flour -- wondra is a special 'non-lumping' flour made especially for gravy -- available at most larger grocery stores -- might be in a small box -- sometimes a little round container -- blue box --

or check out recipes for high humidity/high heat icings --