Champagne Gold Cake?

Decorating By Shays87 Updated 27 Jan 2016 , 9:35pm by kakeladi

Shays87 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shays87 Posted 15 Jan 2016 , 6:57am
post #1 of 9

I am making a wedding cake and the bride has requested a champagne gold tier. Has anyone done this? I have never tried to do a gold color before?  Do I use luster dust or airbrush? Please help! Any suggestions or tips would be a life saver! 

8 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 15 Jan 2016 , 5:11pm
post #2 of 9

Dusting w/an approved/edible gold dust would be my suggestion.  If you have an airbrush mix the dust w/alchole to spray it on.   This will work best on a fondant covered cake.

MagicMoon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MagicMoon Posted 15 Jan 2016 , 11:27pm
post #3 of 9

I had a wedding cake last week and the bride called her color champagne gold. I had chosen which gold luster dust I was going to use but the ribbon she brought me to match to wasn't a shimmer or metallic at all. She wanted more of a tan color. I used Ivory and Black Americolor gel paste to match it.  I've tried to attach a pic but the box doesn't work -guess it's my tablet. kakeladi is a guru on here so if it's metallic gold they want I'd certainly follow that advice. But if you don't know for certain it's a luster they want, I'd ask. My first choice would've been completely wrong. HTH

Shays87 Posted 26 Jan 2016 , 11:01pm
post #4 of 9

Thank you so much for your advice! I am finally making progress with the cake! My bride said she wants a 3 tier cake with the middle teir being gold and some gold details on white fondant. My question is since the "champagne" color has a metalic sheen will a luster dust achieve this or is airbushing the better route? Thanks again for your help! I am learning as I go. :)

Shays87 Posted 26 Jan 2016 , 11:13pm
post #5 of 9

56a7fda0b579d.pngThis is the colors inspiration. 

Shays87 Posted 26 Jan 2016 , 11:20pm
post #6 of 9