Feeling A Little Discouraged :/

Decorating By annakat444 Updated 18 Nov 2015 , 10:11pm by kakeladi

annakat444 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
annakat444 Posted 7 Nov 2015 , 2:45am
post #1 of 16

I'm here for a little encouragement. I'm sure everyone has been where I am at some point. I've been doing cakes as a fun hobby for 4 years (although I take very minimal orders - like 1-2 cakes a month...some months I don't have any - because I stay home with my kids and homeschool and it's just too much to be doing cakes full-time on top of that. But one day....) and I'm starting to get bored with your typical cake or tiered cake. I'm dying to get into sculpting, gravity defying, etc. - anything that has a "surprising" aspect to it.

The perfect order for me to try something different came along this week for a rocket ship themed cake. I thought I could have the cake be a rocket ship blasting off into space - so the cake is lifted off the cake board and I'd have fire be where the separator was. I'd figured out structure/support and everything. Well, when it comes down to it - I'm just too darn scared to take a risk on something I've never done before for a kid's birthday cake! What if I overlooked a tiny detail that completely ruined the cake?

I've changed the design to something "safer" but I'm feeling discouraged - if I don't take risks, how will I ever move to the next level? I know some of you will say to practice - so if I make a practice cake, then what the heck do I do with it? I hate to invest so much money and ingredients if I'm not going to sell it, or at least get my money out of it. These cakes aren't cheap to make!

Sorry for the whining and thank you for reading :P Would love your thoughts! Happy caking!!

15 replies
costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 7 Nov 2015 , 2:57am
post #2 of 16