Gumpaste Question =(

Sugar Work By dgonzalez227 Updated 13 Nov 2015 , 12:51pm by Jeff_Arnett

dgonzalez227 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dgonzalez227 Posted 6 Nov 2015 , 3:33pm
post #1 of 11

so i left my gum paste in the fridge for 24 hours like that Nicolas recipe said and an extra day because i forgot. i took it out today to get to room temp, i tried through the plastic  baggy to pretend to mush some to see if i can use it later

and i took some out some seemed good, but then i flatted it out to test for making roses later , it got super thin and sticky and ripped.. i thought gum paste was supposed to be thick and pliable

Is it supposed to be sticky one flattened/ rolled out ? =( 

10 replies
getonthemove Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
getonthemove Posted 6 Nov 2015 , 5:33pm
post #2 of 11

I am by no means an expert on this, but did it fully reach room temp?  In my very limited experience with gum paste, it definitely has to be room temp to not be sticky and then you have to knead it well before rolling it out. I have always rolled gum paste to be thin so it is more realistic when making flower petals and leaves.  But like I said, I am no expert and have very limited experience.  Hopefully, someone with more experience will chime in soon.

amandagregoryyy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amandagregoryyy Posted 6 Nov 2015 , 5:50pm
post #3 of 11

Maybe it wasn't all the way set to room temp? Just like fondant, if you stick it in the fridge and take it out it starts to get that condensation on the surface of it from being so cold. Maybe this is what happened. I leave my gum paste in the container in my cupboard and it is fine. What brand are you using? I use satin ice.

costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 6 Nov 2015 , 5:50pm
post #4 of 11