Storing A Buttercream Iced Wedding Cake

Decorating By kitty46 Updated 14 Sep 2015 , 5:36pm by kitty46

kitty46 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kitty46 Posted 12 Sep 2015 , 6:57pm
post #1 of 8

Hi all...need some advice.  I've been asked to do a 3-tier wedding cake for September 26th.  This is my first time doing a tiered wedding cake.  I'm pretty sure I have the steps down as to how to ice, support, and stack the cake.  It's going to be pretty simple.  Iced in white buttercream with chocolate buttercream between the layers and decorated with the wedding date cut out in black fondant attached to the cake.  My questions are:

1.  When I have the cake completely iced and decorated, do I just store the cake in the refrigerator until I take it to the venue?  Or, should I leave the cake out the night before?

2.  The cake will have fondant numbers and ribbon around the base of each layer...will those items be okay if I put them on the night before then put in the frig?  Or should I add those the day of the wedding or at the venue?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated...thanks Cindy

7 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 12 Sep 2015 , 8:17pm
post #2 of 8

my first thought is that you should do a white icing dam around every layer you fill so that when you smooth the icing you will hit the white only kwim? y'know so the chocolate will be surrounded by white --

then y'know the old Kenny Rogers' song "...you gotta know when to hold 'em, know when to fold 'em, know when to walk away, know when to run..."

well that's like this performance area -- i know what i do but you set your own 'rules' and this is accomplished by what you test out as best for you --

i fridge all my cakes and deliver them cold sealed into corrugated boxes -- fondant and buttercream alike -- I know my fridges don't drip inside I know what size boards/boxes fit my fridges, freezers and the different sections of my car --