Fondant Or Gumpaste Fairies?

Decorating By drwendy Updated 28 Jan 2007 , 2:42am by drwendy

drwendy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
drwendy Posted 26 Jan 2007 , 8:09pm
post #1 of 10

I'm planning a fairy/flower cake in May and I need to get started as I've never used gumpaste before and have only covered cakes in fondant, never modelled. I want to make little fairies (about 2-3 inches high, the little Tinkerbell kind, not the fat cherub kind) to be playing among the flowers (which I also will be doing for the first time...that's why I'm starting now!). Anybody have advice for me on which to use, and any little tips would be helpful! It's for a cast party for Shakespeare's "Midsummer Night's Dream" and I want it to be really cute.

Thanks in advance!

9 replies
Jackie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jackie Posted 26 Jan 2007 , 8:15pm
post #2 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drwendy

I'm planning a fairy/flower cake in May and I need to get started as I've never used gumpaste before and have only covered cakes in fondant, never modelled. I want to make little fairies (about 2-3 inches high, the little Tinkerbell kind, not the fat cherub kind) to be playing among the flowers (which I also will be doing for the first time...that's why I'm starting now!). Anybody have advice for me on which to use, and any little tips would be helpful! It's for a cast party for Shakespeare's "Midsummer Night's Dream" and I want it to be really cute.

Thanks in advance!

A good place to start is the article on how to make fondant fairies:
http://www.cakecentral.com/article62-How-To-Make-a-Fondant-Fairy.html

Metabea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Metabea Posted 26 Jan 2007 , 8:20pm
post #3 of 10

did you check out this page yet? http://cakecentral.com/article62-How-To-Make-a-Fondant-Fairy.html

they looked so cute I may have to try them out myself. Just for fun

drwendy Posted 27 Jan 2007 , 5:42am
post #4 of 10