Very New And Overwhelmed!

Decorating By Farmwifecakes Updated 16 Jan 2015 , 12:56am by Farmwifecakes

Farmwifecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Farmwifecakes Posted 10 Jan 2015 , 11:50pm
post #1 of 8

AI'm so thankful this forum is here! I'm a new cake decorated and have started a cupcake business with a friend that does the baking. I've had a passion for decorating for awhile but now have started to teach myself technique of the trade. Needless to say I feel overwhelmed with the business side of things. Plus I deal with insecurities of not being properly educated by a college or classes off any kind. We have Wilton classes but I've never done them. Right now money is to tight.

[B]Has anyone one else started doing cupcake decorating business being self taught? [/B]

Even though it's overwhelming, I'm having an absolute blast decorating and love it!

I just wanted to introduce myself and will have plenty more questions coming up.

7 replies
bikemom3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bikemom3 Posted 11 Jan 2015 , 12:24am
post #2 of 8

AWelcome! Craftsy has lots of very beneficial classes ( business & decorating) online for very reasonable prices ( on sale under $20). They are structured so they work for a variety of learning styles. Check out the small business association, they offer free work shops many areas. There's lots of information available on this site too. I've read LOTS of old threads. Two cc members have also written very helpful books "start & run a home based food business" by Mimi Fix and Kara Buntin's "not so common sense 5 tips for home based business" - they can be found on Amazon. hope this helps! Good luck

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 11 Jan 2015 , 5:27am
post #3 of 8