How To Remove Fondant From A Dummy Styrofoam Cake?

Decorating By RebecaR Updated 18 Jul 2014 , 10:01pm by maybenot

RebecaR Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RebecaR Posted 18 Jul 2014 , 7:19am
post #1 of 10

So this is my first time working with a dummy cake, putting on the fondant was super easy. But now I would like to remove the old hard fondant so that I may reuse the dummy cake. I tried peeling it off but it's really difficult and it's hard as a rock. When I covered my dummy cake in fondant, I just misted it with water. Should I have done something else to prevent the fondant from getting stuck to the Styrofoam? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! 

9 replies
rbcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rbcakes Posted 18 Jul 2014 , 8:49am
post #2 of 10

ATry soaking it in water. If you have a container large enough, put something heavy on it then cover with water until it softens enough to come off. Or cover it with damp paper towels (you might need to re-wet the paper towels a few times for the fondant to soften enough.)

Dayti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dayti Posted 18 Jul 2014 , 8:50am
post #3 of 10

Fill your sink or a large bowl with hot water. Put the dummy in and put a weight (plate or something) on top so it doesn't float. The fondant will start to dissolve and get soft, and you can put a spatula between the fondant and dummy and start to pry it off, carefully so you don't damage the dummy. HTH.

Dayti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dayti Posted 18 Jul 2014 , 8:51am
post #4 of 10

(I take a long time to type - you got your answer twice, hahaha)

Snowflakebunny23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Snowflakebunny23 Posted 18 Jul 2014 , 11:54am
post #5 of 10

i try and carefully slide a butter knife under it to chip off the worst of it then fill my bathtub and stick all of the dummies in there.  it can take a while for it to desolve though :-)

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 18 Jul 2014 , 8:21pm