Half Pans?

Baking By lawyercake Updated 23 Mar 2013 , 10:10pm by lawyercake

lawyercake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lawyercake Posted 22 Mar 2013 , 2:05am
post #1 of 9

Hello,

I am a complete newbie baking a wedding cake for a good friend.  It is a fairly large crowd -- about 200 guests -- and I have been researching how large my tiers need to be (planning a round cake, very simple filling, and rough buttercream-look frosting).  Based on Wilton's website, it looks like I should plan to do maybe a 16-inch, 12-inch, 8-inch, and then maybe a 6 or 4 for the top?  I've baked a 12-inch successfully before, but am a little skeptical about a 16 inch fitting in my oven.  Does anyone have any experience using half pans (the kind that are half circle)?  Also, do my tier sizes seem correct? I have plenty of time to keep practicing, so any comments will be much much appreciated.

Thanks!

8 replies
AndreasCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AndreasCakes Posted 22 Mar 2013 , 12:53pm
post #2 of 9

I have used the 9" half pans and they work fine for me. I have seen it suggested that when you make your second layer of the cake, that you turn them so they form a criss-cross for stability.

As for the tier sizes, when picturing your cake, I think that a 4 inch cake would look better than a 6 proportionally. Just my opinion!

Good luck. :)

lawyercake Posted 23 Mar 2013 , 1:21am
post #3 of 9

AThanks so so much! I never would have thought to criss cross them but that makes a lot of sense!

connie9003 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
connie9003 Posted 23 Mar 2013 , 2:11am
post #4 of 9