Sassy74 Posted 17 Dec 2012 , 5:19am
post #1 of

I finally bought a big ol' 50lb block of Sweetex!  Yes, I know that may not be the most exciting news to some, but I'm pretty stoked about it :).  I've been using Sugarshacks recipe for a few years, and I really love it.  I've done tons of trial and error and found a local shortening that has trans-fats that works really well, but there's still a bit of graininess to it that I'm hoping the Sweetex cures.  

I paid $111 for it, delivered.  Is this a good price, do you think?  It seems that every source I found charged around $25-28 for delivery.  And no, I cannot get it, or anything like it, locally :(.  

So, when it arrives later this week, I'll be diligently dividing that sucker up into 3lb chunks to freeze.  I can get 16 6 qt batches of buttercream out of that, so at the very least, I'll save 16 trips across town to that one grocery store I never go to, except to buy a particular brand of shortening lol.

7 replies
Apti Posted 17 Dec 2012 , 7:50am
post #2 of

Good for you!  You have every right to be totally stoked!   I did the happy dance when I used Hi-Ratio for the first time. 

(Does this make us weird?  That I'm happy you just bought 50 lbs. of  fat?)

tdovewings Posted 17 Dec 2012 , 12:38pm
post #3 of

YEAH! Good for you!

Funny you posted this. I've finally started getting enough orders to justify buying the 50# and I'm ordering from foodservicedirect today. I currently buy mine from a local shop, but it is so expensive in those 3lb tubs.

I know some hate it, but everything I do  is dairy-free and it makes the world of difference when you can't use dairy products for frosting.

newbaker55 Posted 17 Dec 2012 , 2:03pm
post #4 of

HECK YEAH that's a good priceicon_eek.gif  Would love to get my hands on THAT deal ! Can't get hi ratio shortening unless I order online and what I've found is $5-6 per pound before shipping cost is added. Too high for my hobby baking.