I'm A Beginner, Please Excuse My Silly Question

Decorating By kiki25 Updated 22 Nov 2012 , 1:23pm by kiki25

kiki25 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kiki25 Posted 22 Nov 2012 , 12:11am
post #1 of 9

I know this maybe a silly question but I am attempting to decorate my first cake today. I have always been puzzled on one particular thing...after you crumb coat your cake when you place it in the refrigerator/freezer, is it covered or uncovered?

8 replies
mommachris Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommachris Posted 22 Nov 2012 , 12:49am
post #2 of 9

I crumb coat my cakes and have never put it in either one. I just let it rest a while. I usually do some dishes while I wait for it to set. icon_smile.gif

mommachris

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 22 Nov 2012 , 1:03am
post #3 of 9

Some people do put their cakes in the freezer or fridge for a little time , then finish the final b/c.

MsGF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MsGF Posted 22 Nov 2012 , 1:16am
post #4 of 9

I put mine in the fridge.  Have coffee, do the dishes.  Then put on the final coat and finish decorating.

Good luck with the cake.

me_me1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
me_me1 Posted 22 Nov 2012 , 2:08am
post #5 of 9

Hi kiki25,

If by uncovered you mean just the crumb coated cake on it's own in the fridge (I have a separate cake fridge so no chance of leftover chilli or anything smelly being near the cake) without any clingfilm or anything then yes, that's what I do. Crumb coat, in the fridge (uncovered), let it set and then do a layer of buttercream and whack that back in the fridge to set.

Cheers, J

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 22 Nov 2012 , 6:29am
post #6 of 9

For over 30 yrs I have made b'creamed cakes.  Crumb coat does NOT need to be friged nor put in the fzr.

It should dry to the touch within 15 minutes or less at room temp!