Cake Decorating And Life Dilemma!

Business By fedra Updated 9 Sep 2012 , 2:45pm by fedra

fedra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fedra Posted 3 Sep 2012 , 4:28pm
post #1 of 12

Hi all,
I've built a name and a reputation for my small cake business in Austin. I love the cake world but it has not been my full time job either. I have a bachelors degree in nursing and worked as a full time RN for a couple of years and have also manage this entire cake life for about 1 1/2 years. I had originally thought that cake decorating can be a hobby and stress reliever when I first started but that took a life all on its own. I have about 5 orders a week (they are all usually detailed custom cakes) and book out 2-3 months in advance. I invest at least 20-25 hours a week on cake decorating/business management. Oh and I have two small children and a husband who works overseas. I've known for the last several years that I would be going back to school to peruse my masters in nursing and that time has now come. I found it pretty easy to quit my day job as an RN but I don't want to leave the cake world all together and I know that school will be more than a full time job. I don't know how to explain to customers that I will be closing or should I even say that. I don't want anyone to think that my business was a failure either. I'd like to take orders again during the summer so that I can keep up my skills up but I'm afraid that's going to get me caught up in the cake business thing again where it is going to be hard to let go. I'm currently booked until November and part in December/February so I'd have to stop taking orders pretty soon like NOW. I just don't know how. I have a custom commercial grade kitchen in my home that I had built specifically for my cake "hobby/business" so it's hard to let go. Thanks for listening!

11 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 3 Sep 2012 , 4:45pm
post #2 of 12