Whats Wrong With My Mmf!!

Decorating By Nutmeg84 Updated 27 Feb 2012 , 8:16pm by QuebecGirl

Nutmeg84 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nutmeg84 Posted 27 Feb 2012 , 3:57pm
post #1 of 6

Hi! Its Nutmeg again! icon_smile.gif I have another question that just has me stumped!! Why doesnt My MMFondant lay perfectly on my cake the way I see it on the perfessional cakes??!! I am new to the business and need all the help I can get so I can perfect the cakes I make! I want my customers to get the best cake I can make them and it makes me want to throw my poor cake out the window when it doesnt come out the way I had in my head! lol icon_confused.gif Anyway, the the fondant always seems to have wrinkles at the bottom...cracks....bubbles....Does it have to do with my buttercream? Should I put more/less buttercream? What about a new recipe?? As you can see I need advice from those of you who have had experience and knows what to do!!! No one around where I live has ever worked with this types of cake making before...which is great for business but bad for advice LOL icon_rolleyes.gif Thank you again and God Bless to all who help!!!!....as you can see, I need it! hahaha

5 replies
Debbye27 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Debbye27 Posted 27 Feb 2012 , 4:41pm
post #2 of 6

Your fondant will only look as good as the cake underneath. That means if your buttercream or ganache isn't flawless, your cake won't be flawless. Have you ever tried using ganache as a crumb coat? It's easy to make, and easier to smooth, may be better for you if you are a beginner. What recipe are you using for your fondant? I make mine like this: