Best Ingredients

Decorating By mamakiddx3 Updated 8 Feb 2012 , 11:32pm by mamakiddx3

mamakiddx3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamakiddx3 Posted 7 Feb 2012 , 5:16pm
post #1 of 7

Okay. I am just starting out with recipes and learning everything so this may sound silly but how do I know what ingredients are the best? From all of my investigating, I understand that using the best ingredients gives you the best cake/cupcake taste, texture, etc. Unfortunately, my cupcakes have been anything but. They have been either too dry or too moist, the density was off. It was as heavy as a rock. I don't know what I am doing wrong. I would like to bake cupcakes and sell them but I feel I should make them from scratch. Is this so? If it is then why can't I find some really good recipes that make a really good cupcake? I am assuming it is because of the ingredients but like I said, I am still trying to learn everything. I want this to succeed rather than fail. PLEASE HELP. Thank you

6 replies
rlowry03 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rlowry03 Posted 7 Feb 2012 , 5:45pm
post #2 of 7

I know the feeling! I bake from scratch, because I try to avoid processed/chemically enhanced foods for health reasons. I'm impatient and I want to find the best recipe right away. I don't like trying recipe after recipe after recipe... But, it's really the only way to find a good one. Eventually you will come across one you really like.

As far as baking from scratch, if you want to, go for it! But many people probably wouldn't even know the difference if you went with a box or a doctored box mix. I think it's just personal preference of the baker.

I don't know what recipes you've tried but here are some to get you started. You'll have to google to find the recipes, I don't have them stored on my computer, but I can give you the names. Again, the ones you like are really personal preference.

Yellow:
The Ultimate Vanilla Cupcake (My Favorite!)