Is It Possible To Make True White Mmf?

Baking By sarascakecreations Updated 28 Aug 2011 , 7:26am by jules5000

sarascakecreations Posted 17 Aug 2011 , 3:22am
post #1 of 12

Hello all,

Ok so I've been making cakes for a few years now and always use homemade MMF other than black and red... and have made wedding cakes before but the table cloths were always colored.

So a few weeks ago I made a white cake and it went on a white table cloth.... well the sheet was white but my cake looked offwhite! or even ivory almost! I was so terrified of getting a horrible phone call from the bride. But thankfully she didn't seem to notice.

So my question is... Is it possible to make a true nice white MMF?

11 replies
dsilvest Posted 17 Aug 2011 , 4:05am
post #2 of 12

I found that MMF was a bit off white. I tried making Toba Garrett's fondant and it was much whiter. The recipe is located here in CC.

Chonte Posted 17 Aug 2011 , 4:25am
post #3 of 12

maybe adding some white coloring?

lrlt2000 Posted 17 Aug 2011 , 11:51pm
post #4 of 12

I added Wilton's white coloring last week and found it turned out much whiter. I think I may do this from now on! I actually kneaded it in after the fondant was all done--next time, I think I may do it while I'm melting the marshmallows.

jennajane Posted 18 Aug 2011 , 1:45am
post #5 of 12

I second "the other way to make fondant". I have been making the fondant from gelatin there are a couple of recipes here, they are pretty much all the same. I found that it turned out really white. Check my "pig-cow" cake in my photos. When I tried to make black with no chocolate I did run into some problems. HTH

sarascakecreations Posted 20 Aug 2011 , 1:53am
post #6 of 12

dsilvest... do you mind sharing a link to the website? I can't find it... not so good with the search tool.

lrlt2000.... where would I find wilton's white color? I haven't seen it at my local bulk barn or mccalls? (local cake shop)

sarascakecreations Posted 20 Aug 2011 , 1:57am